Power Management and Energy-awareness

The Linux Plumbers 2016 Power Management and Energy-awareness track focuses on topics related to power management frameworks, task scheduling in relation to power/energy optimization, and platform power management mechanisms. The goal is to facilitate cross framework and cross platform discussions that can help improve power and energy-awareness in Linux.

Topic proposals may relate to (but not restricted to):

  • Frequency/performance scaling (cpufreq).
  • CPU idle states (cpuidle).
  • Thermal management and scheduling under thermal constraints.
  • ACPI power management.
  • Device Tree representation of platform power management features.
  • Energy-aware scheduling decisions (minimize energy consumption).
  • Power domains management.
  • Integration of system-wide PM (system suspend etc) with runtime PM.
  • Measurement techniques and tools.

Key Attendees

  • Rafael J. Wysocki
  • Morten Rasmussen
  • Kevin Hilman
  • Peter Zijlstra
  • Vincent Guittot
  • Lorenzo Pieralisi
  • Sudeep Holla
  • Srinivas Pandruvada
  • Len Brown
  • Ulf Hansson
  • Amit Kucheria
  • Dietmar Eggemann
  • Mike Turquette
  • Juri Lelli
  • Steve Muckle
  • Patrick Bellasi

Proposed Topics (Tentative)

Please add topic proposals here:

  • Linux Power Management Core Status Report (Rafael J. Wysocki rafael@kernel.org): Overview of the current status of high-level PM frameworks in the Linux kernel.
  • Elimination of Timers from cpufreq (Rafael J. Wysocki rafael@kernel.org): Why timers in cpufreq are/were problematic and what to do about that.
  • SoC idle: unifying hierarchical idle management for CPUs, clusters and IO devices. (Kevin Hilman, Ulf Hansson)
  • Workload Consolidation from User-Space - power and performance implications (Len Brown)
  • CFS Idle injection: benefit of doing synchronized idle injection in scheduler vs. play idle with kthreads (Jacob Pan jacob.jun.pan@intel.com)
  • Expanding ACPI compliance tests (Al Stone ahs3@redhat.com): Overview of recent additions to FWTS, discussion on getting more added
  • Using scheduler-provided utilization information in intel_pstate (Srinivas Pandruvada srinivas.pandruvada@linux.intel.com)
  • The right load/utilization signal for the right job (Dietmar Eggemann dietmar.eggemann@arm.com): Characteristics and shortcomings of load/utilization signals used in today's task scheduler and their potential use in other areas (e.g. pm subsystems) in the future.
  • Definition of a kernel energy model (Sudeep Holla sudeep.holla@arm.com): Overview of kernel energy model proposal and its related DT bindings to describe energy model parameters.
  • Improve utilization and load tracking in the scheduler (Vincent Guittot vincent.guittot@linaro.org: Limitations with the current implementation of load tracking : scaling invariance and propagation in task group and how we can improve the situation.
  • Window-based load-tracking (Vikram Mulukutla vmulukut@quicinc.com, Saravana Kannan skannan@quicinc.com: Discuss RFC and compare window-based load tracking with PELT)
  • Localising the system latency/throughput/power tunability surface (Patrick Bellasi patrick.bellasi@arm.com and Juri Lelli juri.lelli@arm.com): Discussion on enabling per-task tuning of kernel policies using a well defined user-space interface

Schedule

The schedule of the 2016 Power Management and Energy-awareness Plumbers Microconference will be announced later.

Discussion notes

Will be added here when available.

Contact

Runners: Rafael J. Wysocki rafael@kernel.org, Morten Rasmussen morten.rasmussen@arm.com, Kevin Hilman khilman@kernel.org

 
2016/power_management_and_energy-awareness.txt · Last modified: 2016/09/27 15:31 by 217.140.96.140
 
Except where otherwise noted, content on this wiki is licensed under the following license:CC Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported
Recent changes RSS feed Donate Powered by PHP Valid XHTML 1.0 Valid CSS Driven by DokuWiki